.

.

Friday, March 14, 2014

The Deepest Secret: A Novel by Carla Buckley

(Thank you to the publisher and TLC Book Tours for providing me with a copy of this book!)
about book:

For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, The Deepest Secret is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we’re scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.

Eve Lattimore’s family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world.

Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control—and some secrets that not even love can conceal.

Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, The Deepest Secret is a novel of rare power—a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.

my thoughts:

Apparently this book is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult.  Now, I've read loads of Picoult's books, but I wouldn't consider myself a fan of her work.  Her books are more of a palate cleanser for me - like, I've just finished a thought-provoking story and need something light to move me forward with my reading.  They are my go-to forgettable books.  So, I wasn't too sure about reading The Deepest Secret, but I found that I was intrigued by the book's summary and that is what won me over.  My curiosity was piqued -  I had to find out what tragedy occurred (what was this deep, dark secret?!?).

I dove straight into this book and found myself easily lost in the story.  Eve's son, Tyler, has XP - basically, he can't be near UV light or the sun.  This makes for some difficulties in an already fractured family.  Combined with unhappiness, multiple secrets, and an unthinkable tragedy - well, you can only imagine all the havoc that is about to be wreaked.  I'm not going to spill the beans about any of the secrets or they tragedy, just know that you won't help but wonder what you would do if you were in Eve's position.  Its pretty gripping.

The Deepest Secret is a suspenseful story that is rich with characters,  intense drama, and so many secrets.  I loved dipping in and out of it.  Each time I would pick up where I left off, I found myself easily drawn into this dark, mystifying suburban world created by Buckley.  I definitely enjoyed reading this character-driven story.  I found the slow pace in line with Buckley's storytelling - it all flowed together so seamlessly.  I'm not sure if I would have thought to compare this book to Picoult, but I can see the similarities.  Both authors create authenticate characters, employ the alternating chapter method (you know, where each chapter is told from a different character's perspective), and their plots are filled with so much family drama that you can't see how anyone will ever recover from any of it (yeah, that much drama - its crazy!!).  I definitely enjoyed Buckley's book more than Picoult's works, but then again I'm already biased toward the latter's books.

I would recommend The Deepest Secret to fans of women's fiction.  Here's the link for the TLC Book Tour schedule of: The Deepest Secret
Thank you to the publisher and TLC Book Tours for providing me with this book!

8 comments:

Ti said...

I passed on this one. Mainly because the subject matter and the hint at something darker lurking around. I read another book by this author which was pretty good, but a little too pat for me.

Nadia A said...

Ti, I can dig that. It definitely had its dark moments, but it was just such a good mystery novel to get lost in. It wasn't the best read, but it was a good one.

Paigereader said...

You've got me intruigued. I'm going to check this out, I completely agree about your Jodi Picoult comment, a palate cleaner before a more challenging read. Love that..

Heather J @ TLC Book Tours said...

I'm glad that you gave this one a shot and that you really enjoyed it!

Thanks for being on the tour.

Nadia A said...

Paigereader, definitely check it out = it is soooo good!! And, I'm glad I'm not the only one who views Picoult in that manner :)

Heather, thanks!

Tom Cunliffe said...

Well, there's nothing wrong in being a great story-teller. It sounds like Carla Buckley has an inventive imagination and the ability to follow through with a well-structured book. The story certainly sounds compelling and unusual.

jmisgro said...

I must put this one on my to read list!!

Nadia A said...

Tom, that is so true. Great storytelling can definitely improve mediocre writing. And, yes this book was unusual and compelling!

Joanne, definitely check it out!!