.

.

Tuesday, August 4, 2015

Her Sister's Shoes: A Novel by Ashley Farley

(Thank you to the publisher and TLC Book Tours for providing me with a copy of this book!)
about book:

Proves the healing power of family . . .

Set in the South Carolina Lowcountry and packed with Southern charm and memorable characters, Her Sister’s Shoes is the story of three sisters—Samantha, Jackie, and Faith—who struggle to balance the demands of career and family while remaining true to themselves.

Samantha Sweeney has always been the glue that holds her family together, their go-to girl for love and support. When an ATV accident leaves her teenage son in a wheelchair, she loses her carefully constructed self-control.

In the after-gloom of her dreaded fiftieth birthday and the discovery of her husband’s infidelity, Jackie realizes she must reconnect with her former self to find the happiness she needs to move forward.

Faith lacks the courage to stand up to her abusive husband. She turns to her sisters for help, placing all their lives at risk.

In the midst of their individual challenges, the Sweeney sisters must cope with their mother’s mental decline. Is Lovie in the early stages of Alzheimer’s, or is her odd behavior normal for a woman her age? No one, including Lovie, understands her obsession with a rusty key she wears around her neck.

For fans of Dot Frank and Mary Alice Monroe, Her Sister’s Shoes is a contemporary women’s novel that explores and proves the healing power of family.

my thoughts:

Family drama - especially amongst sisters - is my favorite type of drama.  In Her Sister's Shoes, Farley has written an emotional, relatable, and unputdownable story about relationships, love, and the family bond. 

Set in a small town, this is the story of the Sweeney sisters - three woman dealing with too many Lifetime movie issues to count.  There's the cheating spouse, the abusive husband, the tragic accident, and then the ailing mother. Plus, the family seafood restaurant/market that is being redone.  Talk about too much DRAMA!  And of course, since they are family, all of their individual problems and issues tend to bleed over into each others lives - which I think made for a much more realistic story.  As for the sisters and their mother - they are distinct in their personalities, relatable, and easy to connect with.  I loved getting to know this family and learning more about their lives.  Farley has written a fun and engaging read.  I absolutely loved the easy breezy feel to this story riddled with serious issues - made for the perfect light, beach read.  I would definitely recommend this book to fans of women's fiction and chick lit - you will LOVE Her Sister's Shoes!!

Here's the link for the TLC Book Tour schedule for: Her Sister's Shoes
Thank you to the publisher and TLC Book Tours for providing me with a copy of this book!

6 comments:

Heidi’sbooks said...

I love the cover. The book sounds good too!

Nadia A said...

Heidi, I know! That cover is perfect! The book is great - you will LOVE it!!

Carole said...

Hi Nadia, , looks like a fab book! It would be great if you added your review to the Books You Loved: August collection over at Carole's Chatter. Cheers

kimbacaffeinate said...

I really enjoyed this too, and loved the small-town setting.

Nadia A said...

Carole, thanks!

kimbacaffeinate, so glad to hear that you enjoyed this one as well. It really is a great read.

Heather J @ TLC Book Tours said...

Lots of drama indeed! This sounds like a great book for late summer reading by the pool.

Thanks for being a part of the tour!