.

.

Tuesday, June 26, 2018

Left: A Love Story by Mary Hogan

(Thank you to the publisher and TLC Book Tours for providing me with a copy of this book!)

about book:

In this beautifully crafted novel from the author of the critically-acclaimed Two Sisters, comes the story of a woman who retreats into a fantasy world on New York City’s Upper West Side as she slowly loses her once whip-smart husband to dementia—perfect for fans of Still Alice.

When life falls apart, a little fantasy goes a long way…

It started as a dream vacation in Spain, with Fay and Paul Agarra enjoying all the delights of a European holiday. A respected New York City judge, Paul has always been the man Fay can rely on, no matter what. When he inexplicably disappears from a Barcelona street corner, Fay knows something is terribly wrong. Once reunited, Paul shrugs off the episode as a simple misunderstanding—but Fay suspects her almost perfect life has taken a dark and sudden turn.

Soon there are more signs that Paul is beginning to change. Bouts of forgetfulness lead to mistakes in the courtroom. Simple tasks cause unexplainable outbursts of anger. Fay’s worst suspicions are realized when she learns her husband—her rock, her love, her everything—is succumbing to the ravages of dementia.

As her husband transforms before her very eyes, Fay copes with her fears by retreating into a fantasy life filled with promise instead of pain. In Fay’s invented world, she imagines herself living a glamorous life free from heartache, with a handsome neighbor she barely knows rescuing her from a future she can’t accept.

Poignant and beautifully crafted, Left is an unforgettable tale about life’s aching uncertainties—and a woman who discovers that somewhere between hope and reality, an unexpected future will find its way forward.

my thoughts:

Talk about an emotional read! I absolutely LOVED reading Left by Mary Hogan - it was such a beautiful story.

This is the story of Fay and Paul Agarra.  A married couple on vacation in Spain - living the dream and enjoying every second of it.  Except, Paul leaves and when Fay finally tracks him down he acts as if he did nothing wrong. He acts as if she knew where he was going and all of this drama of trying to find him is her fault.  The only thing is, Fay has begun to notice slight changes in her husband's behavior and memory.  He's not the same man she married.  

Turns out that Paul has dementia and the disease is starting to take over. Tasked now with helping to care for her ill husband, Fay retreats into her imagination and creates a pretend life that is filled with romance and glamour.  She needs this outlet, because the reality of the situation is too difficult to deal with.  One day her husband won't even know her anymore and that idea just breaks her heart every day. And so she just moves forward with caring for her husband and herself in the best way she can manage.

I truly enjoyed getting lost in Fay's story and reading about the ways in which she manages to cope with her husband and his illness.  The strength and determination she showed was admirable. I found the story to be unputdownable and the writing to be terrific. Such a great work by Mary Hogan. I would definitely recommend this book to fans of Hogan and to anyone looking for their next great read. 

Here's the link to the TLC Book Tour schedule for: Left
Thank you to the publisher and TLC Book Tours for providing me with a copy of this book!

4 comments:

Ti said...

I won a copy of this book but I was really excited about it beforehand because of an interview I listened to on Book Worm. It sounds pretty amazing and the author read snippets which I immediately wanted to read more of.

Lark said...

This sounds like a powerful yet heartbreaking read. I'm not in a place emotionally to cope with a book like this right now, but I'll keep the author in mind to try later.

Heather J @ TLC Book Tours said...

This sounds like the kind of book that will really stick with readers in the long term. I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for being a part of the tour.

Nadia A said...

Ti, you are going to LOVE this one! That's so cool you won a copy - Congrats! Love bookish wins :)

Lark, it really was, which is why it was sooo good. I know exactly what you mean - this is type of book you have to be in the right emotional state of mind for. So, definitely give it a go when you are in the mood for it :)

Heather, it really does. Thanks so much!