.

.

Saturday, November 3, 2018

Her One Mistake: A Novel by Heidi Perks

(Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of this book!)
about book:

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this suspenseful, compulsively readable, and darkly twisted psychological thriller.

It all started at the school fair…

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter....

This breathless and fast-paced debut—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

my thoughts:

I've been on a reading jag lately and for some reason suspense-thriller books are my go-to.  I am hooked on them. I think because they are quick reads chock full of drama, suspense, and thrills. Whatever the reason, I am really digging them. So, I was happy when NetGalley approved me for Heidi Perks' novel, Her One Mistake.

This is the story of Charlotte and Harriet - two women who became friends out of necessity.  Charlotte has finally convinced Harriet to let her babysit, Alice.  Seems that Harriet has never left her daughter with anyone before - like, ever.  So, Charlotte is over the moon when Harriet agrees to let her take Alice, along with her own kids, to the school fair.  Its a hot day and the fair is busy.  The kids are eager for some fun.  So, Charlotte lets them go on the Jungle Run.  She sits back with her youngest, Evie.  She looks through her phone and glances up occasionally to check on the kids.  When she finally meets up with them, she realizes that Alice is missing.  Seems no one remembers if she even got on the ride.  Panicked and shocked, Charlotte drags her kids all over the fair looking for Alice.  Soon, she is forced to call the police and Harriet.  Alice is a missing person and the search is on.  As for Harriet and Charlotte, well, their friendship is no longer friendly. And, that is all I will write about this dramatic tale about friendship, betrayal, deceit, and murder. 

Perks has written a story chock full twists and turns that will have you jumping to the wrong conclusions - I loved it! I kept trying to figure out what to believe and it was just so much fun watching the story unfold. The writing was terrific and the characters were so unreliable - talk about a suspenseful treat. I would happily recommend Her One Mistake to anyone and everyone looking for their next great read - you will LOVE this book!!


Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of this book!

2 comments:

Lark said...

Talk about a scary moment losing someone else's child. How would you ever forgive yourself? I can see why you wanted to keep reading this one. It sounds very intense.

A Bookish Way of Life said...

Lark, I know! That is just beyond horrible. Exactly! How can you ever forgive yourself - the guilt would just consume you. Very intense and so good with the twists and turns.